
Massage Therapist  
Florida Board of Massage Therapy Licensure Application
PO Box 6330 
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330 
Web: www.floridasmassagetherapy.gov 
Email: info@floridasmassagetherapy.gov 

Fees must be paid in the form of a cashier’s check or money order, made payable to: Department of Health 

Choose your application type: 

Massage Therapist by Exam (X-1021)   $155.00 
Massage Therapist by Endorsement (X-1022)   $155.00 

An applicant, who is denied licensure, or withdraws the application prior to licensure, is entitled to a refund of 
$105.00 (initial licensure fee and unlicensed activity fee). A request to withdraw and/or receive a refund must 
be made in writing. Fees are refundable for up to 3 years from the date of receipt. 

1. PERSONAL INFORMATION

Name: _______________________________  _____________________________  _____________  Date of Birth: ______________ 
Last/Surname   First   Middle            MM/DD/YYYY 

Mailing Address: (The address where mail and your license should be sent.) 

________________________________________________________ ________  ___________________ 
Street/ PO Box Suite/Apt. No City 

_______________   _________ ______________________ _______________________ 
State     Zip  Country  Home/ Cell Number 

Physical Location: (Required if mailing address is a PO Box. This address will be posted on the Department of Health’s website.) 

________________________________________________________ ________  ___________________ 
Street/ PO Box Suite/Apt. No City 

_______________   _________ ______________________ _______________________ 
State     Zip  Country  Work/ Cell Number 

Equal Opportunity Data: We are required to ask that you furnish the following information as part of your 
voluntary compliance with Section 2, Uniform Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedure (1978) 43 
CFR38296 (August 25, 1978).  This information is gathered for statistical and reporting purposes only and 
does not in any way affect your candidacy for licensure.  

SEX:   Male  Female    RACE:  White   Black   Asian/Pacific Islander    Hispanic    Other ___________ 

Email Notification: If you want to be notified of the status of your application by email, please check the "Yes" box and write 
your email address on the line provided below. If you choose this form of notification, you will receive information regarding your 
application file through email. You will be responsible for checking your email regularly and updating your email address with the 
Board office at: info@floridasmassagetherapy.gov 

I want to be notified by email:     

Email Address: 

Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records 
request, do not provide an email address or send electronic mail to our office. Instead contact the office by phone or in writing. 
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NAME ____________________________________________ 

2. MASSAGE THERAPY EDUCATION HISTORY
A. MASSAGE THERAPY SCHOOL GRADUATED FROM: _________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________ _______________________ _________ ________________ 
Street  City State Country 

B.  Date Graduated/ Anticipated Graduation: _______________ 
     MM/DD/YYYY 

C.  ADDITIONAL MASSAGE THERAPY PROGRAM ATTENDED:  _____________________________________________________ 

D.  Date Graduated/ Anticipated Graduation: _______________ 
     MM/DD/YYYY 

E. I authorize the school(s) listed above to release my official transcript(s) directly to the Florida Board of Massage 
Therapy.        Yes       No 

3. APPLICANT BACKGROUND Attach additional sheets, if necessary 

A.  List any other name(s) by which you have been known in the past. 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

4. MANDATORY FLORIDA EDUCATION REQUIREMENT

Completion of a two (2) hour course on Prevention of Medical Errors, a ten (10) hour course on Florida Laws and Rules and a three (3) 
hour course on HIV/AIDS is required prior to licensure. These courses must be from an approved Florida Board of Massage Therapy 
provider or massage school.  (If you graduated from a Florida approved massage school you may check Yes.) 

I attest I have completed the required courses listed above.   Yes      No 

If you checked NO, please submit your course certificates to the Board office upon completion. 

5. DISCIPLINARY HISTORY

If you answer “yes” to any of the questions in this section, you are required to send the following items: 

o Self Explanation, describing in detail the circumstances surrounding the disciplinary action.
o A copy of the Administrative Complaint and Final Order.
o Three (3) current (written within the last year) professional Letters of Recommendation.

Failure to disclose information in this section may result in a denial of your application. 

A.   Yes   No    Have you ever been denied or is there now any proceeding to deny your application for  any 
healthcare license to practice in Florida or any other state, jurisdiction or country? 

B.   Yes     No    Have you ever had disciplinary action taken against your license to practice any healthcare related 
profession by the licensing authority in Florida or in any other state, jurisdiction or country? 

C.   Yes       No    Have you ever surrendered a license to practice any healthcare related profession in Florida or in 
any other state, jurisdiction or country while any such disciplinary charges were pending against 
you?   

D.   Yes       No     Do you have any disciplinary action pending against your license? 

B.  List all health related licenses you have ever held (active, inactive or lapsed). 

      State/Country             Profession     License No.                Date Of Licensure  
________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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6. CRIMINAL HISTORY Answers to commonly asked questions can be found on our website at: 
http://www.floridasmassagetherapy.gov/help-center/#faqs   

If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, you are required to send the following 
items: 

o Self Explanation describing in detail the circumstances surrounding each offense; including dates, city and state,
charges and final results.

o Final Dispositions and Arrest Records for all offenses. The Clerk of the Court in the arresting jurisdiction will
provide you with these documents. Unavailability of these documents must come in the form of a letter from the
Clerk of the Court.

o Completion of Sentence Documents. You may obtain document from the Department of Corrections. The
report must include the start date, end date and that the conditions were met.

o Three (3) current (written within the last year) professional Letters of Recommendation.

A. Yes       No       Have you EVER been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to, 
a crime in any jurisdiction other than a minor traffic offense?  You must include all misdemeanors 
and felonies, even if adjudication was withheld.   

Reckless driving, driving while license suspended or revoked (DWLSR), driving under the 
influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI) are not minor traffic offenses for purposes 
of this question. 

B. Yes       No       Have charges ever been brought against you by any branch of the United States Armed Services 

Failure to disclose information in this section may result in a denial of your application. 

7. CRIMINAL AND MEDICAID/MEDICARE FRAUD QUESTIONS

Applicants for licensure, certification or registration and candidates for examination may be excluded from licensure, 
certification or registration if their felony conviction falls into certain timeframes as established in Section 456.0635(2), 
Florida Statutes.  If you answer “Yes” to any of the following questions, please provide a written explanation for each 
question including the county and state of each termination or conviction, date of each termination or conviction, and 
copies of supporting documentation to the address below. Supporting documentation includes court dispositions or 
agency orders where applicable. 

1. Yes   No Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of 
adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S. (relating to social and economic assistance), 
Chapter 817, F.S. (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S. (relating to drug abuse 
prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction?   

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 2. 

a. Yes   No   If “Yes” to 1, have you successfully completed a drug court program for a felony offense that 
resulted in the plea being withdrawn or charges dismissed?  

b. Yes  No   If “Yes” to 1, for felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than 15 years before 
the date of application? 

c. Yes  No   If “Yes” to 1, for felonies of the third degree, has it been more than 10 years before the date of 
application, except for felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6), Florida Statutes? 

d. Yes  No   If “Yes” to 1, for felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes, has it 
been more than 5 years before the date of application? 
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2. Yes   No  Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of 
adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 
U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues)? 

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 3. 

a. Yes   No   If “Yes” to 2, has it been more than 15 years before the date of application since the sentence 
and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended? 

3. Yes   No Have you ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursuant to 
Section 409.913, Florida Statutes?   

   If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 4. 

a. Yes   No  If you have been terminated but reinstated, have you been in good standing with the Florida 
Medicaid Program for the most recent five years? 

4. Yes   No  Have you ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the 
state, from any other state Medicaid Program? 

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 5. 

a. Yes   No  Have you been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years? 

b. Yes   No  Did the termination occur at least 20 years before the date of this application? 

5. Yes   No Are you currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of 
Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities? 

6. Yes   No If “Yes” to any of the questions 1 through 5 above, on or before July 1, 2009, were you 
enrolled in an educational or training program in the profession in which you are seeking 
licensure that was recognized by the Board of Massage Therapy or Department of Health?  
(If “Yes”, please provide official documentation verifying your enrollment status.) 

8. EXAMINATION HISTORY

Please indicate which of the following licensure examinations you have passed  

Name of Examination State/Country Month/Year 

  NCBTMB  ___________ __________ 

  NCETM ___________ __________ 

  NESL ___________ __________ 

  MBLEX ___________ __________ 

  Other: ________________ ___________ __________ 

9. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

  Yes     No  Availability for Disaster:  Will you be available to provide health care services in special 
needs shelters or to help staff disaster medical assistance teams during times of emergency 
or major disaster?        
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CONFIDENTIAL AND EXEMPT FROM PUBLIC RECORDS DISCLOSURE* 

10. HEALTH HISTORY (Supporting documentation should be sent directly to the board office)

If you answer “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, you are required to send the following items: 

o Self Explanation, explaining the medical condition(s) or occurrence(s) and current status.
o Letter(s) from Licensed Professional summarizing diagnosis, treatment and prognosis; or any other official

documentation as it relates to any “Yes” answer. Documentation must be current within the last year.

A.    Yes     No In the last five years, have you been enrolled in, required to enter into, or participated in any 
drug or alcohol recovery program or impaired practitioner program for treatment of drug or 
alcohol abuse that occurred within the past five years? 

B.    Yes     No In the last five years, have you been admitted or referred to a hospital, facility or impaired 
practitioner program for treatment of a diagnosed mental disorder or impairment? 

C.    Yes       No During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed 
mental disorder that has impaired your ability to practice massage therapy within the past five  
years? 

D.    Yes       No During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed 
physical disorder that has impaired your ability to practice massage therapy? 

E.    Yes     No In the last five years, were you admitted or directed into a program for the treatment of a 
diagnosed substance-related (alcohol/drug) disorder or, if you were previously in such a 
program, did you suffer a relapse within the last five years? 

F.    Yes       No During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed 
substance-related (alcohol/drug) disorder that has impaired your ability to practice massage  
therapy within the past five years? 

Name:  ___________________________________________________ 
Last    First    Middle 

Social Security Number:  ____________________________________ 

* This page is exempt from public records disclosure.  The Department of Health is required and authorized to collect
Social Security Numbers relating to applications for professional licensure pursuant to Title 42 USCA § 666 (a)(13).  For 
all professions regulated under Chapter 456, Florida Statutes, the collection of Social Security Numbers is required by 
section 456.013 (1)(a), Florida Statutes. 

Social Security Information - * Under the Federal Privacy Act, disclosure of Social Security numbers is voluntary unless 
specifically required by federal statute. In this instance, Social Security numbers are mandatory pursuant to Title 42 
United States Code, Sections 653 and 654; and Section 456.013(1), 409.2577 and 409.2598, Florida Statutes. Social 
Security numbers are used to allow efficient screening of applicants and licensees by a Title IV-D child support agency to 
ensure compliance with child support obligations. Social Security numbers must also be recorded on all professional and 
occupational license applications and will be used for license identification pursuant to the Personal Responsibility and 
Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (Welfare Reform Act. 104 Pub.L. Section 317) Clarification of the SSA 
process may be reviewed at www.ssa.gov or by calling 1-800-772-1213. 
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NAME _____________________________________________ 

I understand that it is my duty and responsibility as an applicant for licensure to supplement my application after it has 
been submitted if and when any material change in circumstances or conditions occur which might affect the Board’s 
decision concerning my eligibility for examination or licensure.  Such supplement is required by section 456.013(1), F.S.  
Failure to do so may result in disciplinary action by the Board including denial of licensure. 

I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservation 
of any kind, and I declare that my answers and all statements made by me herein and in support of this application are 
true and correct.  Should I furnish any false information on or in support of this application, I understand that such action 
shall constitute cause for denial, suspension, or revocation of any license to practice in the state of Florida in the 
profession for which I am applying.  I hereby acknowledge that practice as a licensed Massage Therapist in Florida is 
governed by Chapters 456 and 480, F.S., and Rule Chapter 64B7, F.A.C.   I understand that I am under a continuing 
obligation to understand and keep informed of any changes to Chapters 456 and 480, F.S., and Rule Chapter 64B7, 
F.A.C.    

Applicant Signature: ___________________________________    Date: ______________ 
This field cannot be typed. You must print the application and sign it.    MM/DD/YYYY 

All applications filed with the department are valid for one (1) year from the date of receipt.
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FLORIDA BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY LICENSE VERIFICATION REQUEST 
After completion of this form, please forward this form to the licensing agency of each state by which 
you are now or have been licensed. 

Applicant Name: __________________________________________ SSN: ____________________ 

Address: __________________________________________________________________________ 

Name original license was issued under: _________________________________________________ 

License Number: ___________________________ State: _________________________________ 

I hereby authorize release of any information regarding my licensure status to the Florida Board of 
Massage Therapy. 

Applicant Signature: ________________________________________ Date: __________________ 

STATE LICENSING AGENCY 

All verifications shall be completed in English and mailed or sent electronically directly from the state(s) 
or jurisdiction(s) and must include the following criteria: 

□ Typed on an official state form or letterhead
□ Include an official Board seal
□ Signature and title of state Board official

The following information must be included in all verifications: 
□ Licensee name
□ License number
□ State or jurisdiction of licensure
□ Dates of issuance/expiration
□ Licensure method; exam type or endorsement
□ Licensure status
□ Is license in good standing?
□ Has this license ever been encumbered (denied, revoked, suspended surrendered, limited, placed on probation)?

Complete verifications must be mailed or sent electronically directly from the state licensure Board to: 

Florida Board of Massage Therapy 
4052 Bald Cypress Way 
Bin C-06 
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3256 

Fax (850) 412-2681 
info@floridasmassagetherapy.gov 
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CRIMINAL CONVICTION SELF EXPLANATION FORM 

This form must be completed if you answer “YES” to any of the criminal history questions on the application.  Please 
complete a separate form for EACH offense.  Duplicate this form as necessary. 

Name: _____________________________________________________________________ 

Social Security Number: ______________________________________________________ 

Level of Offense (Circle One):  Felony   Misdemeanor  

Location of Occurrence: ________________________________________________________ 
City State 

Date of Offense: __________________ Date of Sentencing: ______________________ 

Offense Type (DUI, Battery, Prostitution, etc.): ___________________________________________ 

Explanation/details surrounding the offense: What happened? What changes have you made? Attach additional 
sheets as necessary. 

Sentencing Information:  Please list the details of your sentencing (I.e.: probation, jail time, fines/costs, programs 
completed, etc.) 

Current Disposition:  Please list the current disposition of your sentencing. 

Don’t forget to attach documentation from the Clerk of Court pertaining to the arrest/charges, sentencing due to 
the arrest and proof of successful completion of your sentencing. 

Rule 64B7-25.001 
DH-MQA 1115, 1/14 Page 8 of 10 



Florida Board of Massage Therapy 
Transcript Request Form 

 
If you graduated from a massage therapy program approved by a state other than Florida, complete the top 
section and send this form to your Massage Therapy school to complete and attach your transcripts.  
 
NAME _____________________________________________________________________  
 
ADDRESS__________________________________________________________________ 
  
SOCIAL SECURITY # ________________________ DATE OF BIRTH _________________  
 
I authorize the school to release the information requested below to the Florida Board of 
Massage Therapy. 
 
Signature of Student: _____________________________________ Date: ___________ 
             MM/DD/YYYY 
 
___________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
This section is to be completed by the Dean, Registrar, or Chairperson of the massage therapy program at the 
United States school from which the applicant graduated.  
 
DO NOT complete this form in anticipation of program completion.  
 
I hereby certify that ___________________________________successfully completed a Massage 
        Name of Applicant 
 
 Therapy education program at  _________________________________   on _________________ 

          School Name                       MM/DD/YYYY 
__________________________________________________________________ 
Street Address        State  Zip Code 

 
The curriculum completed by Applicant equals or exceeds the curriculum requirements set forth in rule chapter 
64B7-32.003 F.A.C. (Attached)  Hours completed: ___________ 
 
The school must be approved by a governmental agency authorized to approve massage therapy programs. 
_________________________________________   _______________________ 
Name of approving agency           License/certificate number 
 
_________________________________________________   ________________  
Printed name of Dean/Registrar/Chairperson of M.T. Program    Date 
 
_________________________________________________  
Signature  
 
 
RETURN THE ORIGINAL COMPLETED FORM, OFFICIAL STUDENT TRANSCRIPTS, AND PROOF OF 
SCHOOL APPROVAL DIRECTLY TO THE BOARD OFFICE.  
 
 
Please mail to: Florida Board of Massage Therapy,  

   4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C06, 
     Tallahassee, FL 32399-3256 
Rule 64B7-25.001 
DH-MQA 1115, 1/14           Page 9 of 10 
 

https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ruleNo.asp?id=64B7-32.003


64B7-32.003, F.A.C. Minimum Requirements for Board Approved Massage Schools. 
(1) In order to receive and maintain Board of Massage Therapy approval, a massage school, and any satellite location 

of a previously approved school, must: 
(a) Meet the requirements of and be licensed by the Department of Education pursuant to Chapter 1005, F.S., or the 

equivalent licensing authority of another state or county, or be within the public school system of the State of Florida; and 
(b) Offer a course of study that includes, at a minimum, the 500 classroom hours listed below, completed at the rate of 

no more than 6 classroom hours per day and no more than 30 classroom hours per calendar week: 

Course of Study Classroom Hours 
Anatomy and Physiology 150 
Basic Massage Theory and History 100 
Clinical Practicum 125 
Allied Modalities 76 
Business 15 
Theory and Practice of Hydrotherapy 15 
Florida Laws and Rules 10 
(Chapters 456 and 480, F.S. and Chapter 64B7, F.A.C.) 
Professional Ethics 4 
HIV/AIDS Education 3 
Medical Errors 2 
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